RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

Mock Caldecott Award 2007

Each January Rhode Island librarians gather to select the most distinguished American picture book in a "mock" version of the Caldecott award. This annual tradition helps librarians sharpen their selection skills and learn about the award process for the Caldecott Medal, which is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association.  The balloting system follows that of the real Caldecott Committee.

The 2007 Mock Caldecott took place on Monday, January 8 at the William Hall Library in Cranston. The winning books, selected from the final list examined and discussed by a group of children’s librarians following the criteria for the real Caldecott committee, were:

Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom by Carole Boston Weatherford. Illus. by Kadir Nelson.

Honor Books:
Max's Words by Kate Banks. Illus. by Boris Kulikov.
Flotsam by David Wiesner.

On January 22, 2007 the Caldecott Medal was awarded to Flotsam by David Wiesner. Caldecott Honor Books include Gone Wild: An Endangered Animal Alphabet by David McLimans and Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom, illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Carole Boston Weatherford. Look for more information on ALA's Association for Library Services to Children website.

The real Caldecott, Newbery and Sibert winners will be announced on Monday, January 22, 2007, at the American Library Association Midwinter Conference. Check the ALA Web Site under “Breaking News” around Noon or watch a webcast of the awards ceremony at 11:00 AM EST. Check here to see how the Mock Caldecott results compare!