RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

Mock Caldecott Award

Each January Rhode Island librarians gather to select the most distinguished American picture book in a "mock" version of the Caldecott award. This annual tradition helps librarians sharpen their selection skills and learn about the award process for the Caldecott Medal, which is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association.  The balloting system follows that of the real Caldecott Committee.

The 2008 Mock Caldecott took place on Monday, January 7 at the William Hall Library in Cranston. The winning books, selected from the final list examined and discussed by a group of children’s librarians following the criteria for the real Caldecott committee.

Henry’s Freedom Box by Kadir Nelson.

Honor Books:
Lightship by Brian Floca.

View a list of other Mock results from RI and other states.

On January 14, 2008 the Caldecott Medal was awarded to The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick. Caldecott Honor Books include Henry's Freedom Box: A True Story from the Underground Railroad, illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Ellen Levine (RI's Mock Caldecott award winner), First the Egg by Laura Vaccaro Seeger, The Wall: Growing Up Behind the Iron Curtain by Peter Sís, and Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity by Mo Willems. Look for more information on ALA's Association for Library Services to Children Caldecott Medal website, or view all 2008 ALSC Literary and Related Award Winners.

Print version of the booklist [pdf]

This program is sponsored by the Rhode Island Office of Library and Information Services.  It is free, and no registration is required.  For more information, contact Melody Allen, 574-9306.

Previous Mock Caldecott Winners