RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

Mock Caldecott Award 2013

Each January Rhode Island librarians gather to select the most distinguished American picture book in a "mock" version of the Caldecott award. This annual tradition helps librarians sharpen their selection skills and learn about the award process for the Caldecott Medal, which is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association.  The balloting system follows that of the real Caldecott Committee.

The 2013 Mock Caldecott took place on Monday, January 14, 2013 at the William Hall Library in Cranston. Sixteen participants voted in our mock election, including children's librarians, school library media specialists, and a library school student.


Bear Has a Story to Tell, written by Philip C. Stead and illustrated by Erin E. Stead

Honor Books:

Z is for Moose, written by Kelly Bingham and illustrated by Paul O. Zelinsky
This is Not My Hat, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen

The winning books were selected from the final list examined and discussed by a group of children's librarians following the criteria for the real Caldecott committee.

On January 28, 2013 the Caldecott Medal was awarded to This is Not My Hat, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen. Five Caldecott Honor Books were also named: Creepy Carrots!, written by Aaron Reynolds and illustrated by Peter Brown; Extra Yarn, written by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen; Green, written and illustrated by Laura Vaccaro Seeger; One Cool Friend written by Toni Buzzeo and illustrated by David Small; and Sleep Like a Tiger written by Mary Logue and illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski. Look for more information on ALA's Association for Library Services to Children's Caldecott Medal website, or view all 2013 ALSC Literary and Related Award Winners.

Previous Mock Caldecott Winners