RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

2014 Mock Caldecott

Each January Rhode Island librarians gather to select the most distinguished American picture book in a "mock" version of the Caldecott award. This annual tradition helps librarians sharpen their selection skills and learn about the award process for the Caldecott Medal, which is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association.  The balloting system follows that of the real Caldecott Committee.

The 2014 Mock Caldecott took place on Monday, January 6, 2014 at the William Hall Library in Cranston. Eighteen participants voted in our mock election, including children's librarians and school library media specialists.

Mock Caldecott Medal:

Journey, written and illustrated by Aaron Becker

Mock Caldecott Honor Books:

Building Our House, written and illustrated by Jonathan Bean
Exclamation Mark, written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld

The winning books were selected from the final list examined and discussed by a group of children's librarians following the criteria for the real Caldecott committee.

On January 27, 2014 the Caldecott Medal was awarded to Locomotive written and illustrated by Brian Floca. Three Caldecott Honor Books were also named: Journey by Aaron Becker (RI's mock Caldecott winner); Flora and the Flamingo by Molly Idle; and Mr. Wuffles by David Wiesner. Look for more information on ALA's Association for Library Services to Children's Caldecott Medal website, or view all 2014 ALSC Literary and Related Award Winners.

Previous Mock Caldecott Winners