RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

2014 Mock Newbery Discussion

Each January Rhode Island librarians gather to select a "mock" version of the Newbery award. The Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children published in the United States during the preceding year. The award is restricted to authors who are citizens or residents of the United States.

On January 23, 2014 a group of 13 children's librarians and school library media specialists selected the following winner and honor books:

Mock Newbery Medal:

Paperboy by Vince Vawter

Mock Newbery Honor Books

Far Far Away by Tom McNeal
The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp by Kathi Appelt

On January 27, 2014, the Newbery Medal was awarded to Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo. Newbery Honor Books include Doll Bones by Holly Black, The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes, One Came Home by Amy Timberlake, and Paperboy by Vince Vawter (RI's mock Newbery winner). Look for more information on ALA's Association for Library Services to Children's Newbery Medal website, or view all 2014 ALSC Literary and Related Award Winners.

Previous Mock Newbery Winners