RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

2015 Mock Newbery Discussion

Each January Rhode Island librarians gather to select a "mock" version of the Newbery award. The Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children published in the United States during the preceding year. The award is restricted to authors who are citizens or residents of the United States.

On January 21, 2015 a group of 19 children's librarians and school library media specialists selected the following winner and honor books:

Mock Newbery Medal:

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

Mock Newbery Honor Books

Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff
The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson
Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere by Julie Lamana

On February 2nd, 2015 the Newbery Medal was awarded to The Crossover, written by Kwame Alexander (Rhode Island's Mock Newbery winner). 2 Newbery Honor Books were also named: El Deafo, written and illustrated by Cece Bell; and Brown Girl Dreaming, written by Jacqueline Woodson. Look for more information on ALA's Association for Library Services to Children's Newbery Medal website, or view all 2015 ALSC Literary and Related Award Winners

Previous Mock Newbery Winners